Firstly, a massive thank you to our Patreon supporters. Your generosity touches me deeply. These supporters have become the single biggest contributing factor to the survival of DVDBeaver. Your assistance has become essential.

 

What do Patrons receive, that you don't?

 

1) Our weekly Newsletter sent to your Inbox every Monday morning!
2)
Patron-only Silent Auctions - so far over 30 Out-of-Print titles have moved to deserved, appreciative, hands!
3) Access to over 20,000 unpublished screen captures in lossless high-resolution format!

 

Please consider keeping us in existence with a couple of dollars or more each month (your pocket change!) so we can continue to do our best in giving you timely, thorough reviews, calendar updates and detailed comparisons. Thank you very much.


 

Search DVDBeaver

S E A R C H    D V D B e a v e r

King Kong [Blu-ray]

 

(John Guillermin, 1976)

 

Coming to Shout! Factory in a Special Edition Blu-ray in May 2021:

 

Review by Gary Tooze / Colin Zavitz

 

Production:

Theatrical: Universal

Video: Universal Studio Canal Video / Studio Canal DE / Umbrella (AUS)

 

Disc:

Region: FREE! / Region 'B'-locked / 'B'

Runtime: 2:14:28.143 / 2:14:50.207 / 2:14:28.101

Disc Size: 32,023,212,418 bytes / 38,297,677,438 bytes / 24,551,979,920 bytes

Feature Size: 28,180,180,992 bytes / 34,501,945,344 bytes / 22,677,362,688 bytes

Video Bitrate: 20.12 Mbps / 29.27 Mbps / 18.49 Mbps

Chapters: 20 / 12 / 12

Case: Standard Blu-ray case / Standard case

Release date: June 17th, 2009 / January 19th, 2017 / December 2020

 

Video:

Aspect ratio: 2.35:1

Resolution: 1080p

Video codec: VC-1 Video / MPEG-4 AVC Video / MPEG-4 AVC Video

 

Audio:

DTS-HD Master Audio English 2204 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 2204 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 16-bit)
DUBs: DTS-HD Audio French 2046 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 2046 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 16-bit)
DTS-HD Master Audio Spanish 1631 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1631 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 16-bit)

 

DTS-HD Master Audio English 1570 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1570 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 768 kbps / 24-bit)

DUB: DTS-HD Master Audio German 1488 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1488 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 768 kbps / 24-bit)

 

DTS-HD Master Audio English 2742 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 2742 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)

 

Subtitles:

Dutch, French, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, none  

 

German, none

 

None

 

Extras:

• Making Kong (22:17 in SD-PAL)

• Deleted Scenes (in SD-PAL)

Theatrical trailer (in SD-PAL)  

 

Deleted Scenes (16:30 - 576i with German subtitles)

English Trailer (2:23 - 576i)

 

MAKING KONG: THE MAKING OF - 22:17 mins
DELETED SCENES - 14 mins
THEATRICAL TRAILER - 02:23

 

Bitrates:

 

1) Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray - TOP

2) Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray - MIDDLE

2) Umbrella - Region 'B' - Blu-ray BOTTOM

 

 

Description: The movie Dino De Laurentiis wanted to sell with the line "When Kong dies, everybody cries" is a camp-infested update of the 1933 classic. With a script by Lorenzo Semple Jr., creator of the similarly tongue-in-cheek Batman television series, this version of Kong is loaded with silly dialogue and situations. On this occasion, the sea voyage is reconfigured as executive Charles Grodin leads his crew in search of oil deposits. Star Jeff Bridges, as well as the big ape's love interest, Jessica Lange, and the rest of the cast all seem to be in on the joke. Special effects artist Rick Baker certainly succeeded in his efforts to give the face of Kong some emotive qualities, and at the time of the film's release, the special effects were state-of-the-art. Considering the extraordinary development in the last quarter century, the effects here are nevertheless likely to underwhelm contemporary viewers. Although King Kong did fairly well at the box office, earning a place as the third highest grossing film of 1976, it was not the blockbuster De Laurentiis hoped for, especially in light of its high budget. ~ Michael Costello, All Movie Guide.

 

 

The Film:

Common wisdom contends that Dino De Laurentiis' big-budget remake of Merian C. Cooper's classic 1933 film, King Kong, is a bad movie. And, viewed from a certain perspective, perhaps it is, but it's also a lot of fun. Certainly, this version of Kong doesn't have more than an echo of the original's magic associated with it. The same level of painstaking craftsmanship isn't apparent here -- instead of using stop-motion technology, we have Rick Baker in a monkey suit. But the 1976 rendition has a fresh, breezy feel to it. The screenplay, by Lorenzo Semple Jr. (Three Days of the Condor), is relentlessly tongue-in- cheek, and there's an air of self-aware campiness pervading the project.

This movie certainly doesn't offend me like it does many lovers of the original. There are times when the '76 Kong is obviously very bad, but those are more than offset by the things it does right. Although the special effects (which really aren't all that "special") won an Academy Award, they're definitely not the type to impress, even though this is still (barely) the pre-Star Wars era. Semple's script, which effectively brings the story into the '70s, is an asset, as are the performances, which hit the perfect rhythm for this kind of cornball adventure.

Excerpt from James Berardinelli's review at Reelviews located HERE

 

 


Image :    NOTE: The below Blu-ray captures were obtained directly from the Blu-ray disc.
 

The image quality is about what you might expect from a 1976 film put 1080P. It's dual-layered with a modest bitrate and the image is far from stellar but looks consistent and acceptable. Due to it's size this probably is different from the VC-1 HD-DVD that came out. Grain is reasonably heavy and healthy detail exists. Even putting to Blu-ray doesn't really help the special effects which may have been exemplary over 30-years ago but now have definitely lost their luster. It looks a shade hokey - but suitably the film is a little hokey.  The shots of the island are the most impressive - well, beyond the radiant Jessica Lange. Nothing looks exceptional and colors may be slightly faded but it does look like real film - without any digital bias. So this, almost nostalgic hi-def appearance, certainly benefits this particular film.

 

The French Blu-ray is out-of-print - possibly because it was offered as region free - I'm not positive. There are differences in the image quality. The German transfer is a bit brighter, and cleaner (the French had some dirt). The German colors are slightly cooler - and there may even be some slight digitization. I'd say for most system you won't see a significant advantage of one over the other. Both look very acceptable in-motion.  

 

Umbrella has released the 1976 "King Kong'' on an all-new Region 'B' Blu-ray. The film is housed on a single-layer 25GB Blu-ray, with a rather low, modest bitrate. This looks to be a very similar image to the previous StudioCanal / Universal Blu-ray, with the only difference being an ever-so-slightly colder color timing. Cheeks are a little more pink, blues are a little more purple, but aside from that, nothing new here.  

 

CLICK EACH BLU-RAY CAPTURE TO SEE ALL IMAGES IN FULL 1920X1080 RESOLUTION

 

1) Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray - TOP

2) Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray - MIDDLE

2) Umbrella - Region 'B' - Blu-ray BOTTOM

 

 

1) Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray - TOP

2) Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray - MIDDLE

2) Umbrella - Region 'B' - Blu-ray BOTTOM

 

 

1) Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray - TOP

2) Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray - MIDDLE

2) Umbrella - Region 'B' - Blu-ray BOTTOM

 

 

1) Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray - TOP

2) Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray - MIDDLE

2) Umbrella - Region 'B' - Blu-ray BOTTOM

 

More Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray Captures

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Audio :

The best news yet is the English DTS-HD Master 5.1 track, at 2204 kbps, does NOT have forced French subtitles as we've seen with other offerings from France, so you can actually see this as it was shown in the theater in the US. It's a pretty decent mix although, like the image, never stellar. Bass and separations exist to varying degrees throughout the action sequences but you can still tell it has some range deficiency. There are 2 optional foreign language DUBs (French and Spanish) and Dutch, French, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish subtitle choices which match the initial viewing screen that asks you to pick a country (say 'Australia'). My Momitsu has identified it as being a region FREE disc playable on Blu-ray machines worldwide.

 

No surround bump offered on the German release - but a similar DTS-HD Master 2.0 channel and it has some depth for the many effects - ape growls - as well as the score by the iconic John Barry (Midnight Cowboy, Dances With Wolves and the Bond themes among his many credits). It's offered for both the original English and a German DUB. There are optional German subtitles included and the Blu-ray disc is region 'B'-locked.

 

The audio is similar to the previous 5.1 DTS-HD Master audio track, only difference is this Umbrella track being in 24-bit (a welcome bump in quality, though probably not too discernible unless going back and forth). Sadly there are no subtitles at all on this Region 'B' locked Blu-ray from Umbrella.

 

 

Extras :

All supplements are in PAL - playable on a region 'B' machine or on any Momitsu. Not much here - a dated 'making of... for 22-minutes that seems more humorous than exciting and a handful of deleted scenes and a trailer. The plus is the 'Making Kong' is, surprisingly for this disc origin, in English.

 

Extras include 16.5-minute of deleted scenes (with German subtitles) and an English trailer - both in 576i - PAL.

 

The extras are the same making-of, deleted scenes, and trailer that have previously appeared on Blu-ray.

 

Studio Canal FR - Region FREE - Blu-ray

 

 

Studio Canal DE - Region 'B' - Blu-ray

 

 

Umbrella (AUS) - Region FREE - Blu-ray

 

 

BOTTOM LINE:
I just love campy monster movies and this has now relegated to that level. There's a large gap in comparison to Peter Jackson's King Kong but while Naomi Watts is a honey - she can't touch Miss Lange - especially as the big ape tries to undress her. I admit I find this very cool to own on Blu-ray. It's probably a long way from coming to region 'A' and may never get some grandiose treatment with endless supplements so I encourage you to indulge if you have any inclination whatsoever. It's really fun.

 

Still very enjoyable as a lesser-seen alternative to the more famous and latest versions of the giant ape story. I really liked seeing it again and have had a guy email me for years that THIS is the best version of King Kong. I'm slowly coming around. ;) This is absolutely worth owning on Blu-ray! Plenty of entertainment here.

 

Fans still await a stellar Blu-ray In Region 'A'. For many this, 1976 flic, is their favorite version of the King Kong tale - nostalgia? go figure. But the Umbrella price seems exorbitant considering the availability of the dual-layered German Blu-ray release. The French Blu-ray remains OOP.

Gary Tooze

July 27th, 2009

May 24th, 2017

Colin Zavitz

December 2020

 

Coming to Shout!Factory in a Special Edition Blu-ray in May 2021:

About the Reviewer: Hello, fellow Beavers! I have been interested in film since I viewed a Chaplin festival on PBS when I was around 9 years old. I credit DVD with expanding my horizons to fill an almost ravenous desire to seek out new film experiences. I currently own approximately 7500 DVDs and have reviewed over 3000 myself. I appreciate my discussion Listserv for furthering my film education and inspiring me to continue running DVDBeaver. Plus a healthy thanks to those who donate and use our Amazon links.

Although I never wanted to become one of those guys who focused 'too much' on image and sound quality - I find HD is swiftly pushing me in that direction. So be it, but film will always be my first love and I list my favorites on the old YMdb site now accessible HERE.  

Gary's Home Theatre:

Samsung HPR4272 42" Plasma HDTV
Momitsu - BDP-899 Region FREE Blu-ray player
Marantz SA8001 Super Audio CD Player
Marantz SR7002 THX Select2 Surround Receiver
Tannoy DC6-T (fronts) + Energy (centre, rear, subwoofer) speakers (5.1)

Gary W. Tooze

 

HD-DVD STORE         HIGH DEFINITION DVD STORE

 

ALL OUR NEW FORMAT DVD REVIEWS

 

 





 

Hit Counter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DONATIONS Keep DVDBeaver alive:

 CLICK PayPal logo to donate!

Gary Tooze

Thank You!