Search DVDBeaver

S E A R C H    D V D B e a v e r

 

H D - S E N S E I

A view on Blu-ray by Gary W. Tooze

Quarry  [3 Blu-rays]

 

(Greg Yaitanes and John Hillcoat, 2016)

 

  

  

  

 

Review by Gary Tooze

 

Production:

Theatrical: NightSky Productions

Video: HBO

 

Disc:

Region: FREE (as verified by the Oppo Blu-ray player)

Runtime: 8 episodes (1:15:56.176 1st episode and 7X 0:55:27.504 episodes)

Disc 1 Size: 42,330,720,202 bytes

Premiere Episode Size: 15,590,160,384 bytes

Video Bitrate: 19.99 Mbps

Case: Standard Blu-ray case

Release date: February 14th, 2017

 

Video:

Aspect ratio: 1.78:1

Resolution: 1080p / 23.976 fps

Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC Video

 

Audio:

DTS-HD Master Audio English 3340 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 3340 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
DUBs:

DTS Audio French 768 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 768 kbps / 24-bit
DTS Audio Spanish 768 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 768 kbps / 24-bit
Commentaries:

DTS Audio English 768 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 768 kbps / 24-bit

 

Subtitles:

English (SDH), French, Spanish, Dutch, none

 

Extras:

• Audio Commentary for Episode 1,  with Graham Gordy and Michael D. Fuller, Episode 4 - with Jodi Balfour and Greg Yaitanes and Episode 8 - Greg Yaitanes, Kevin Koster, Patia Prouty, Richard Burden, P.J. Bloom aned Allen Marshall Palmer

"Inside Quarry" (one for each episode average - 2:00)

Deleted Scenes for Each Episode (3-4 minutes)

Car Chase picture-in-picture (1:22)

• Behind the Scenes (6:46)

• Additional Scenes (15:11)

• Music Videos (56:15)

• Love Letters (1:21)

 

Bitrate Premiere Episode:

 

 

Description: Set in and around Memphis during the early 1970s, Quarry is a thrilling action drama that centers on the character of Mac Conway, a Marine who returns home from a second tour of duty in Vietnam, only to find himself stigmatized by his involvement in a highly publicized massacre while fighting abroad. With the relationship with his wife Joni growing tenuous, Mac finds himself tempted by a lucrative offer from The Broker, a shady criminal involved in a network of killing and corruption that spans the length of the Mississippi River. After a series of events Mac – whom The Broker codenames "Quarry" – finds himself conscripted against his better judgment into The Broker's crew, a turn of events that has dire consequences for both himself and Joni.

 

Season 1

You Don't Miss Your Water S1, Ep1
9 Sep. 2016 You Don't Miss Your Water
Coming back home from Vietnam, two soldiers, struggling to find jobs and getting back to normal life, are approached by the mysterious 'Broker' with an interesting offer.

Figure Four S1, Ep2
16 Sep. 2016 Figure Four
Joni fears the worst about Mac when her lover turns up dead. Meanwhile, Mac helps Buddy with a gun deal that turns into a violent confrontation in another bit of work for The Broker.

A Mouthful of Splinters S1, Ep3
23 Sep. 2016 A Mouthful of Splinters
Joni gets visited by an unexpected guest. Mac comes home for an unpleasant surprise, that makes him contact The Broker.

Seldom Realized S1, Ep4
30 Sep. 2016 Seldom Realized
Fearing for his wife's safety, Mac checks Joni and him to a motel.

Coffee Blues S1, Ep5
7 Oct. 2016 Coffee Blues
After not contacting him for a month, The Broker shows up at Mac and Joni's house, asking Mac to drive him somewhere.

His Deeds Were Scattered S1, Ep6
14 Oct. 2016 His Deeds Were Scattered
Mac gets a high-profile assignment from The Broker; a curfew is ordered in the wake of racial unrest.

Carnival of Souls S1, Ep7
21 Oct. 2016 Carnival of Souls
The Broker gives Quarry and Buddy a high-profile mission. Meanwhile, Tommy tries a new lead and Joni has an open house.

Nuoc Chay Da Mon S1, Ep8
28 Oct. 2016 Nuoc Chay Da Mon
Mac (Logan Marshall-Green) confronts his war demons and settles a score with an old adversary.

Excerpt from IMDb located HERE

 

Image :    NOTE: The below Blu-ray captures were taken directly from the Blu-ray disc.

HBO's Blu-ray package the first (of only one?) season of the TV series Quarry is as clean and crisp as you might imagine from a new HD-broadcast series. The 8 X 52-minute episodes - 2ith a premiere at 1 hour 15-minutes - are housed on three, dual-layered, Blu-rays. 3 episodes on the first, two on the second and three on the third - with supplements on each disc. It is in the original aspect ratio of 1.78 and has a supportive bitrate. There are plenty of dark scenes in Quarry (dark topics) but the I saw no noise or compression artifacts. The brighter the scenes the more depth - which is common. Detail is strong, visuals, especially close-ups, are crisp. It is quite flawless and in 1080P.

 

CLICK EACH BLU-RAY CAPTURE TO SEE ALL IMAGES IN FULL 1920X1080 RESOLUTION

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Audio :

Excellent audio quality with a supportive and tight DTS-HD Master 5.1 track at powerful 3340 kbps. There is plenty of action getting a tour of the surround speaker capabilities. Kris Dirksen's score helps support the time period and adds subtle tension throughout. Plus there is a lot of late 60's music by Otis Reading and others. Everything sounds pristine in lossless and there is depth and balance with clear dialogue. There are foreign-language DUBs and subtitle options signifying the three discs as being region FREE - playable on Blu-ray machines worldwide.

 

Extras :

Part of the significant value here are the supplements. There are audio commentaries for three episodes - the first has Graham Gordy and Michael D. Fuller, Episode 4 - with Jodi Balfour and Greg Yaitanes and Episode 8 has Greg Yaitanes, Kevin Koster, Patia Prouty, Richard Burden, P.J. Bloom and Allen Marshall Palmer. These are good dealing mostly with production-related information. I would have loved to hear from the author Max Allan Collins - we used to speak regularly in email many years ago (remember me Max?) There are short descriptions entitled "Inside Quarry" for each episode running around 2-minutes apiece. There are also deleted scenes for each episode, other tidbits like a 'Car Chase' picture-in-picture and a focus non the Love Letters written while in Vietnam, some behind the scenes and additional scenes footage but what some may enjoy are the music videos - almost an hour's worth.

 

 

BOTTOM LINE:
Quarry is a fabulous TV series. It may have been a shade slow through the middle but it has one of the best endings I can recall. This is modern Noir for sure - with a flawed protagonist seduced by money and reclamation of love. And he drinks bourbon! Sweet! I really want to read Max Allan Collins books now. This is excellent value, IMO - one the best television shows I've ever seen in a while - if you like Noir - this is strongly recommended!  

Gary Tooze

January 30th, 2017

  

  

  

About the Reviewer: Hello, fellow Beavers! I have been interested in film since I viewed a Chaplin festival on PBS when I was around 9 years old. I credit DVD with expanding my horizons to fill an almost ravenous desire to seek out new film experiences. I currently own approximately 9500 DVDs and have reviewed over 5000 myself. I appreciate my discussion Listserv for furthering my film education and inspiring me to continue running DVDBeaver. Plus a healthy thanks to those who donate and use our Amazon links.

Although I never wanted to become one of those guys who focused 'too much' on image and sound quality - I find HD is swiftly pushing me in that direction.

Gary's Home Theatre:

60-Inch Class (59.58” Diagonal) 1080p Pioneer KURO Plasma Flat Panel HDTV PDP6020-FD

Oppo Digital BDP-83 Universal Region FREE Blu-ray/SACD Player
Momitsu - BDP-899 Region FREE Blu-ray player
Marantz SA8001 Super Audio CD Player
Marantz SR7002 THX Select2 Surround Receiver
Tannoy DC6-T (fronts) + Energy (centre, rear, subwoofer) speakers (5.1)

APC AV 1.5 kVA H Type Power Conditioner 120V

Gary W. Tooze

 

       HIGH DEFINITION DVD STORE     ALL OUR NEW FORMAT DVD REVIEWS

 

 




 

Hit Counter

 

DONATIONS Keep DVDBeaver alive:

 CLICK PayPal logo to donate!

Gary Tooze

Thank You!