Search DVDBeaver

S E A R C H    D V D B e a v e r

 

H D - S E N S E I

A view on Blu-ray by Gary W. Tooze

 

Chloe [Blu-ray]

 

(Atom Egoyan, 2009)

 

on July 19th, 2010

 

 

on October 7th, 2010

 

on July 13th, 2010

   
Available from Sony July 13th, 2010 in North America

 

Review by Gary Tooze

 

Production:

Theatrical: The Montecito Picture Company

Video: Optimum / Studio Canal / Kinowelt / Sony

 

Disc:

Region: 'B'-locked (as verified by the Momitsu region FREE Blu-ray player)

Runtime: 1:36:07.762

Disc Size: 38,771,042,758 bytes

Feature Size: 24,105,406,464 bytes

Video Bitrate: 23.94 Mbps

Chapters: 16

Case: Standard Blu-ray case

Release dates: Above

 

Video:

Aspect ratio: 1.85:1

Resolution: 1080p / 23.976 fps

Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC Video

 

Audio:

DTS-HD Master Audio English 3893 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 3893 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
DTS-HD Master Audio French 3580 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 3580 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)

 

Subtitles:

English (SDH), Dutch,  French, none

 

Extras:

• Making Of Chloe Directed by Atom Egoyan (25:41 in SD)

Interviews with Atom Egoyan (22:00), Julianne Moore (4:57) and Amanda Seyfried (6:58 all in SD)

The Strange Case of Atom Egoyan (1:25:57 in SD)

Two Deleted Scenes (5:19 in HD!)

• Alternate Ending (5:21 in HD!)

• Trailer (1:53 in HD!)

• Photo Gallery (38 stills in HD running slideshow fashion 4:00 minutes)

Video and Audio configuration test

Previews of Leap Year, The Last Station, Coco Before Chanel and a Maltesers avert.

 

Bitrate:

 

 

Description: An untrusting wife attempts to prove that her husband is cheating by hiring an escort to seduce him, inadvertently endangering her entire family in the process. Julianne Moore, Liam Neeson and Amanda Seyfried star in a thriller written by Erin Cressida Wilson, and directed by Atom Egoyan.

 

 

The Film:

Director Atom Egoyan finds intrigue at the edges of conventional sex. "Chloe," like his great film "Exotica" (1994), is about sexual attraction confused by financial arrangements. "Chloe" centers on a powerfully erotic young woman with personal motives that are hidden. It is not blatant but seductive, depending on the ways that our minds, more than our bodies, can be involved in a sexual relationship. It's not so much what we're doing as what I'm thinking about it -- and what you're thinking, which may be more complex than I realize.

Catherine Stewart (Julianne Moore) is a gynecologist, a successful one, judging by the house she inhabits fresh from the cover of Architectural Digest. Her husband, David (Liam Neeson), is an expert on opera. The call girl she saw from her window is Chloe (Amanda Seyfried), young, red-lipped, intelligent. Catherine explains to Chloe that she suspects her husband of adultery and wants to test if he would try to pick up another woman. She tells Chloe where her husband always has lunch.

Early in the film, talking with a patient uncertain about her sex life, Catherine explains that an orgasm is a simple muscular contraction, quite natural, nothing to be frightened of or made mysterious. Orgasms for Catherine, however, involve a great deal more than muscles, and a great deal depends on who they are experienced with and why. Chloe tells her about entering a cafe, boldly asking David if she can take the sugar from his table and returning to her own. David understands that Chloe is not interested in sugar.

Excerpt from Roger Ebert at the Chicago Sun-Times located HERE

 


Image :    NOTE: The below Blu-ray captures were taken directly from the Blu-ray disc.
 

Firstly, what I have is a European, 'B'-locked, Blu-ray screener. I believe it is the Optimum (UK) disc in my possession (it starts with their logo) although I understand that the Kinowelt German package will be the exact same - offering German subtitles, menus etc. Ditto for the Studio Canal with French subs and menus. I don't have any evidence that the North American Sony will be the same transfer - although I suspect so but with, probably, different extra features. Stay tuned on that front.

 

The image quality is rock solid. The film doesn't sport any grandiose visuals or effects - as it is not that type of movie. What it does do on Blu-ray is present a consistent and pristinely clean representation of the theatrical. There's some depth and the oft-used close-ups impress with strong detail. It is dual-layered with a middling bitrate but without any notable digital manipulation. It looks excellent without ever blowing you away with dynamic eye-popping effects. This 1080P rendering, in the original 1.85 aspect ratio, looks like the film I saw in the theater (in Toronto, by the way, - where it was shot) and I have zero complaints with the image transfer.

 

CLICK EACH BLU-RAY CAPTURE TO SEE ALL IMAGES IN FULL 1920X1080 RESOLUTION

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Audio :

The DTS-HD Master 5.1 track at an underused 3893 kbps flawlessly reproduces the film's audio. There aren't any significant moments for effects to spring loose and separations are, not surprisingly, modest but there are some good subtleties tucked in here and there making there way to the rear speakers. Mychael Danna always does exceptional scores and this is yet another. It runs with alongside Chloe accentuating each dramatic scene - a few times bursting forth in the more climatic moments. This disc offers English, French and Dutch subtitles and my Momitsu has identified it as being a region 'B'-locked Blu-ray. As we stated the corresponding geographic region in Europe will presumably offer those necessary subtitles or even DUBs. This particular disc initially asks you to choose between the UK, France or The Netherlands.

 

 

Extras :

Quite stacked in the supplements department starting with The Strange Case of Atom Egoyan which is a full-length documentary directed by Alain Mazars, Professor at La Fémis (Paris), running 1.5 hours in SD. It has extensive input throughout from Egoyan (speaking English) and his wife Arsinée Khanjian (speaking mostly French - with English subs), as well as actor Maury Chaykin and others with scenes from many of his films. A lot of the time Egoyan appears to be in his home and many topics are covered - when he met his wife, how he started in film etc. Fans of the director may enjoy - others not so much as it seems a bit scattered. There are two deleted scenes - Chloe's Story about her mother/Cath's story about Michael (about 2-minutes) and Chloe arrives at Home coupled with Michael tells Chloe his story running about 3.5 minutes. There is a 5.5 minute Alternate Ending in HD which appears to be the same as the original but with a Chloe (Amanda Seyfried) voiceover. On top of that is a 1/2 hour Making of... with soundbytes from cast and crew and three SD video interviews with Egoyan (22:00), Julianne Moore (4:57) and Seyfried (6:58). We get an HD trailer, a Photo Gallery (38 stills in HD running slideshow for 4-minutes), Video and Audio configuration test and previews of Leap Year, The Last Station, Coco Before Chanel and a Maltesers (yes, the candy) avert...

 

 

BOTTOM LINE:
I loved Chloe. The story was much better than average but in Egoyan's deft hands it is a near masterpiece. Julianne Moore is awesome. I think she was a huge part of my enjoyment but the director's subtle touches placed me dead center of the story. As a modern sexual thriller it encapsulated the emotional infidelity complexities well enough to divert your attentions to spring the climaxes upon you. Few directors working today could do this so well. I was wrapped right up in Chloe - loved the marital tension - the sexiness and could re-watch it... endlessly. This Blu-ray produced a thoroughly rewarding film presentation. This is absolutely recommended - great film - impressive transfer and extensive extras! 

Gary Tooze

May 26th, 2010

 

 

on July 19th, 2010

 

 

on October 7th, 2010

 

on July 13th, 2010

   
Available from Sony July 13th, 2010 in North America


 

About the Reviewer: Hello, fellow Beavers! I have been interested in film since I viewed a Chaplin festival on PBS when I was around 9 years old. I credit DVD with expanding my horizons to fill an almost ravenous desire to seek out new film experiences. I currently own approximately 9500 DVDs and have reviewed over 3500 myself. I appreciate my discussion Listserv for furthering my film education and inspiring me to continue running DVDBeaver. Plus a healthy thanks to those who donate and use our Amazon links.

Although I never wanted to become one of those guys who focused 'too much' on image and sound quality - I find HD is swiftly pushing me in that direction. So be it, but film will always be my first love and I list my favorites on the old YMdb site now accessible HERE.  

Gary's Home Theatre:

60-Inch Class (59.58” Diagonal) 1080p Pioneer KURO Plasma Flat Panel HDTV PDP6020-FD

Oppo Digital BDP-83 Universal Region FREE Blu-ray/SACD Player
Momitsu - BDP-899 Region FREE Blu-ray player
Marantz SA8001 Super Audio CD Player
Marantz SR7002 THX Select2 Surround Receiver
Tannoy DC6-T (fronts) + Energy (centre, rear, subwoofer) speakers (5.1)

APC AV 1.5 kVA H Type Power Conditioner 120V

Gary W. Tooze

 

HD-DVD STORE         HIGH DEFINITION DVD STORE

 

ALL OUR NEW FORMAT DVD REVIEWS

 

 




 

Hit Counter

 

DONATIONS Keep DVDBeaver alive:

Mail cheques, money orders, cash to:    or CLICK PayPal logo to donate!

Gary Tooze

Thank You!