(aka "Bach - The Well Tempered Clavier 48 Preludes and Fugues / Hewitt, MacGregor, Demidenko, Gavrilow - 2000")

directed by Karen Whiteside and Peter Mumford
UK 200


Bach's Preludes & Fugues for Well-Tempered Clavier has few equals in the course of human artistic achievement. Framed in the Baroque style it easily transcends its 250 year history - capable of reaching a wide spectrum of generations and music fans. It is so richly steeped in vast cosmic levels that even the pianist who has heard and played it hundreds of times, finds new 'voices' in the work.

The 48 Preludes and Fugues are played by 4 different pianists, introduced with a short conversation from that pianist. Seen in different halls and other setting with varying degres of lighting - shot at a multitude of times, this is truly a must-own DVD for Classical music fans. I get more enjoyment and playing time out of this disc than almost all in my collection. A kind of euphoria overtakes you when you are listening - one that can only be described as pure. After 5 or 6 viewings I would say it is impossible for anyone not to fall in love with it.
out of

Gary W. Tooze

DVD Review: Image Entertainment -  Region 0 - NTSC

DVD Box Cover


CLICK to order from:

Distribution Image Entertainment -  Region 0 - NTSC
Runtime 2:30:10 (Disc 1) +  2:44:00 (Disc 2) = 5:14:10
Video 1.71:1 Original Aspect Ratio
Average Bitrate: 5.37 mb/s (Disc 1) + 4.83 mb/s (Disc 2)
NTSC 720x480 29.97 f/s 

NOTE: The Vertical axis represents the bits transferred per second. The Horizontal is the time in minutes.


Disc 1



Disc 2

Audio  English (Dolby Digital 5.1), English (Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo)
Subtitles None
Features Release Information:
Studio: Image Entertainment

Aspect Ratio:
Widescreen letterbox - 1.71:1

Edition Details:

• Book 1, Program 1-12: Andrei Gavrilov, New Art Gallery, Walsall
• Book 1, Program 13-24: Joanna MacGregor, Paula Guell, Barcelona


• Book 2, Program 1-12: Nikolai Demidenko, the Palazzo Labia, Venice
• Book 2, Program 13-24: Angela Hewitt, Die Wartburg, Eisenach

DVD Release Date: September 4, 2001

Keep Case
Chapters: 24 X 2 = 48


The image quality is acceptable in the fact that it is such a lesser part of this package. Colors and hues seem right - the widescreen -non-anamorphic - image is reasonably good. I would only recommend listening to this (and all classical) music in the 2.0 Stereo - it is only my personal preference. This channel is quite worthy of distinction - it is quite solid. No Extras excepting that each prelude/fugue has its introduction by the pianist - which I quite enjoyed - not too long - just enough information. What I did find kind of tiresome are the credits which roll after every chapter ?!?.. This is totally unnecessary - could have all been done at the end. Otherwise a great set. out of

Gary W. Tooze

DVD Menus


Screen Captures

















DVD Box Cover


CLICK to order from:

Distribution Image Entertainment -  Region 0 - NTSC


Hit Counter












DONATIONS Keep DVDBeaver alive:

Mail cheques, money orders, cash to:    or CLICK PayPal logo to donate!

Gary Tooze

Many Thanks...