"Back to the Beav"          Upcoming Contest:

Winners of the Cannes Film

Festival Palme D'or (Golden Palm), the Grand Prize at the festival:

1946 ---no single overall winner selected---
1947 ---no single overall winner selected---
1948 ---no festival due to lack of funding---
1949 The Third Man
1950 ---no festival due to lack of funding---
1951 Miracolo a Milano (Miracle in Milan)
Fröken Julie (Miss Julie)
1952 Due soldi di speranza (Two Cents Worth of Hope)
1953 Le salaire de la peur (Wages of Fear)
1954 Jigoku-mon (Gate of Hell)
1955 Marty
1956 Le monde du silence (The Silent World)
1957 Friendly Persuasion
1958 Letiat jouravly (The Cranes Are Flying)
1959 Orfeu negro (Black Orpheus)
1960 La dolce vita
1961 Viridiana
1962 O pagador de promessas (The Given Word)
1963 Il gattopardo (The Leopard)
1964 Les parapluies de Cherbourg (The Umbrellas of Cherbourg)
1965 The Knack… and How To Get It
1966 Un homme et une femme (A Man and a Woman)
Signore e signori (The Birds, the Bees, and the Italians)
1967 Blow Up
1968 ---no award, festival abandoned due to protests---
1969 If…
1970 M.A.S.H.
1971 The Go-Between
1972 La classe operaia va in paradiso (The Working Class Goes to Heaven)
Il caso Mattei (The Mattei Affair)
1973 Scarecrow
The Hireling
1974 The Conversation
1975 Chronique des années de braise (Chronicle of the Years of Embers)
1976 Taxi Driver
1977 Padre padrone (Father and Master)
1978 L'albero degli zoccoli (The Tree of the Wooden Clogs)
1979 Die blechtrommel (The Tin Drum)
Apocalypse Now
1980 Kagemusha (The Shadow Warrior)
All That Jazz
1981 Czlowiek z zelaza (Man of Iron)
1982 Missing
Yol (The Way)
1983 Narayama-bushi-ko (Ballad of Narayama)
1984 Paris, Texas
1985 Otac na sluzbenom putu (When Father Was Away on Business)
1986 The Mission
1987 Sous le soliel de Satan (Under the Sun of Satan)
1988 Pelle erobreren (Pelle the Conqueror)
1989 Sex, Lies and Videotape
1990 Wild at Heart
1991 Barton Fink
1992 Den goda viljan (The Best Intentions)
1993 The Piano
Bawang bieji (Farewell My Concubine)
1994 Pulp Fiction
1995 Underground
1996 Secrets and Lies
1997 Unagi (The Eel)
T'am e guilass (Taste of Cherry)
1998 Mia eoniotita ke mia mera (Eternity and a Day)
1999 Rosetta
2000 Dancer in the Dark